Mahalo Hawaii

I’m an emotional mess as I write this post. I started writing this post a week ago but have had a Hawaii hangover this past week. We said goodbye to our home and my heart broke a little as we handed over the keys. I always bitched about that house and the mold and how tiny it was but you know what? It’s where I took FOUR pregnancy tests in total shock I was going to be a mom. It’s where I flung open the door to the bathroom with a pregnancy test in one hand and a bib in the other and watched Daniel’s face as I told him he was going to be a daddy. It’s where we spent three Christmas’, it’s where we hosted the many family and friends that came to visit this piece of paradise, it’s where I watched my husband eagerly build all the furniture for our child’s nursery, and where we brought our sweet J. It’s where I watched my parents lay eyes on their first grand baby! It’s where so many amazing memories were made with friends who turned into family. 

This was the first true place I “adulted.” This is where I truly fell in love with Daniel. It’s where we worked through our difference; where we cried with each other, shared countless laughs, and where we expanded our family. It’s where the Army trusted me to lead Soldiers for the first time. It’s the first for a lot of things for me and for that I will forever be grateful.

May 16, 2013 Daniel and I got married in Hawaii, just the two of us with God and a complete stranger as our witness. Three and a half crazy and fulfilling years later and we have created so many more memories; all here in Hawaii. 

 

We have traveled throughout Hawaii, have hiked to beautiful waterfalls, scenic points, snorkeled amongst the most beautiful fish and sea life,  ate amazing new foods, and made life long friends. 

Sadly this Army life is crazy and it sucks saying “see you soon” to amazing friends that have become family. I’m not good with goodbyes at all and this past few weeks has been extremely hard on me. The hardest thing was watching all my friends develop a relationship with J. It warmed my heart watching how deeply they all cared for her. 

I feel blessed to have been given the opportunity to blossom in Hawaii. I’ve meet some amazing mentors, I’ve learned hard lessons, I’ve led Soldiers, I’ve seen the most beautiful things. I’ve frolicked with the most beautiful animals in the ocean, I’ve hiked volcanos, and I tried everyday to touch the people and things in my life in a positive way. 

I will miss you Hawaii and you will always own a piece of my heart. Thanks for loving my family. Mahalo and until we meet again! 🍍❤️

Leave a Reply

