Labor and delivery 

February 25th, 2016 forever changed my life. This was the day I became a mom. Jecelin Connie Sperry’s mom.  

 From the moment I found out I was pregnant, I started working on my delivery plan. I wanted to go all natural, no epidural, no pitocin, no c-section, and wanted a midwife. I pretty much just wanted to be left alone and let my body do what it’s supposed to do. 

I am sharing this blog to raise awareness and to reassure others that even though your plan doesn’t go step by step, you still can have a beautiful experience. I am also sharing this to let moms know you make the decisions and call the shots. Doctors can suggest but you ultimately are the decision maker. 

February 24th was two days before my due date! I woke up like any other day, got ready for work at 0515 and went in. I had no idea that this was the day I would go into labor. I felt pretty good, no signs of labor (loss of mucous plug, bloody show, final nesting, etc). At work that day we would be participating in a car wash to raise money for our upcoming ball. From 0930-1330 I was helping dry off cars and collecting money in the hot sun. I hadn’t realized it but  I had gotten a pretty good burn that day. After the car wash I came home ate a good ol pb&j and headed to my 40 week appointment. 

  
 (My last bump pics)

At my appointment my midwife did her normal checks; my weight, vitals, and measured my belly. She also set up my appointment for the following Friday to either induce me or check my fluids to see if the baby was still doing well. I left this appointment discouraged and also feeling like I was going to be pregnant for forever. Oh was I wrong.

After the appointment Daniel and I headed down to a hail and farewell for his battalion. This is where they greet new Leaders in the battalion and say goodbye to those leaving. We ate dinner and the formal portion was soon to begin. I sat at a table with a baby, so of course, I had to hold him 😊 before the formal portion, I handed the baby off to Daniel and went to the restroom. When I came back they had started their hails and farewells. Within the next ten minutes I felt a couple of gushes that I just thought was discharge. No, no it wasn’t. Within seconds I had streams of water rolling down my legs. I whispered to Daniel, “I think my water broke.” As his eyes popped out of his head, he felt it and confirmed it was definitely water. We abruptly stood up and headed for the car in which a bigger gush of water occurred.

When we got to the car, I called the hospital and told them what had happened and they told me to come in within the next few hours so they could check me/monitor me for infection. So many thoughts flooded my mind. 

We headed back home to show our friends how to feed the dogs, grab our chargers, and say “see ya soon” to the pups.

On our way to the hospital I was having contractions every 2-3 minutes for 23 seconds a piece. We arrived to the hospital where they began getting my vitals as well as check to see if my water had broke. For the first time in my life, my blood pressure was high!!!! Also, the midwife didn’t even have to do anything but look when checking to see if my water broke because another huge gush happened on the table. 

So they admitted me to the labor and delivery room. Little did I know it would be a long 24 hours. The first thing they did was draw blood and make me pee in a cup to see if my high blood pressure was anything serious and it wasn’t (thank goodness). 

Next, they checked my cervix to see how dilated I was. I soon found out that what they told me at my 12 week appointment about my cervix being posterior and tilted and could make it harder for delivery really meant 😳

It hurt so bad when she checked me. Once she finally got to my cervix I was only 1 Cm dilated. Talk about discouraging. 

She then suggested we insert a bulb to dilate me to a 3. 

Within 40 minutes, they took it out and I was at a 3. However, my contractions had spread way a part now. The nurse suggested introducing pitocin to bring my contractions closer together. I did NOT want this. However, since my water broke they wanted to ensure I delivered the baby within 24 hours to eliminate infection. They started pitocin and man oh man those contractions intensified. 

So from about 11pm until 11 am the next day, they kept increasing my Piticon, checking my vitals every hour to ensure I had no signs of infection, and let me be. I was in so much pain. I didn’t sleep at all that night, I did laps around the room pushing my cart around with the pitocin IV, bounced on the ball,  and waited it out. I was so uncomfortable. I had a blood pressure cuff on, a contraction band, and a heart rate monitor band on for Jecelin that kept sliding off! It was a long, long sleepless night. Around 1130 they checked me again. I was only 4-5 cm and 90% thinned. How discouraging!!!! I was defeated. My midwife also informed me that my foresac was still intact and that she needed to pop it in order to progress my dilation. She also told me how painful it could be and that they wanted to up my pitocin again after to get me to a 10 quicker. 

I was hysterical at this point. I was having hard contractions, I was exhausted, I was freezing, and I was just ready to have the baby. She suggested I get an epidural to ease my pain and allow me to sleep a few hours before pushing. I asked a million questions. I was so nervous that an epidural would increase my c-section rate, I was nervous about not feeling my legs, I was nervous it would mess up my back permanently, I was honestly a mess. 

The midwife left the room for Daniel and I to discuss it. Daniel was absolutely great. As I was hysterically crying and torn over what to do, he honestly gave me his opinion and supported me either way. We decided to go with the epidural so I could get some rest before pushing. 

We had the doctor come in who would give me my epidural and he explained everything, let me ask whatever questions I wanted, and re-assured me of the process. 

I had scoliosis growing up so I was scared that this would make the epidural harder to put in but he was sure to check my back before doing anything without my permission and give me an honest assessment. 

At around 1330, we finally started the epidural. I had been in labor for 18 hours already 😅

As I breathed through the contractions and stayed as still as possible, the epidural was in within 15 minutes. From the waist down I went numb within the next 15 minutes after that and I was able to finally get some rest. 

Fast forward to around 1800. My current midwife was about to end her shift but before she left she checked me and I was at an 8… Almost there. My favorite midwife/first midwife I had at my 12 week appointment was coming on shift! I was so excited she would be the one delivering me.

When she arrived at 1830, she checked me and could see baby J’s head! She said I would be ready to push at 1900. At 1900 she came in and prepped everything. She asked me if I wanted a mirror to watch and asked Daniel if he wanted to pull her out!

At 1920 I started pushing. It was so enjoyable. My midwife was an awesome coach, my nurse held one leg and Daniel held the other. It was seriously incredible what women’s bodies are capable of doing. With each push I could see dark, long hair getting closer to the “exit.” At around 1940, it was time for the final push. Daniel got ready to catch and pull as my midwife assisted him. At 1944, Miss Jecelin made her debut and it was the most emotional and beautiful thing I had ever experienced. 

They placed her on my chest and when I heard her first cry, my heart skipped a beat. She wrapped her small hand around my pinky and looked into my eyes. I was a mom.

They didn’t have Daniel cut the cord until the placenta stopped pulsating, they left us be for skin to skin and to breastfeed and to just bond with our newest favorite human. It was amazing!!!

Before taking the placenta away they allowed us to look at it. It was so neat!! The midwife told me how awesome and healthy the cord and placenta looked and that made me feel so great. My body did all of that! 

The recovery process will be another blog one day lol 

If you have made it this far, here are some adorable baby pics 😉 

    
    
    
  
    
   
Hope you enjoyed!!

Leave a Reply

