Baby Sperry

So I know it’s been a long time since my last blog but I’m back and with some exciting news! About a month ago I was overwhelmed with emotion when I found out I was pregnant. 

Ever since that day, my mind has been racing. Until Sunday I was still in shock and “denial.” Yeah I saw four at home pregnancy tests all say that I was indeed pregnant and I also took a blood test that too confirmed I was, but the feeling still wasnt real. 

Yes Daniel and I have been wanting a baby but neither of us thought it would happen THIS quick haha. But I truly believe everything happens for a reason and this is no different. 

Want to know my second emotion? Worried. So worried about work. I am a Platoon Leader in the United States Army. What would my bosses think? How would this hinder me leading my Soldiers? It’s extremely sad that something that should be so happy and exciting in my life; started out in worry. I told my bosses right away and it really wasn’t as big as a deal as I thought it would be.

Not going to lie, it has been extremely difficult being pregnant in my current profession. I am 10 weeks pregnant today and have been the most exhausted I’ve ever been in my life. All I dream about all day is when my next nap can be. All I want to do is sleep. I wake up every morning at 0515 and start physical training at 0630 until about 0745. Then I wear combat boots and uncomfy acu bottoms until about 6 pm. By time I get home, I am a zombie.

A lot of thoughts have been filling me head. Up to this point, I was sincerely thinking about getting out of the Army once my commitment was up in July next year, but now that I am pregnant, it has helped me affirm what I want.

Anyway, back to the exciting stuff! So for two weeks I didn’t tell my family because I was scared. I started reading books and they all spoke about how 20% of pregnancies end in miscarriage and that it happens in the first trimester. I didn’t want to tell my family via FaceTime or by phone and get their hopes up. So I waited until I would go back to ohio; two whole weeks later. 

Those few weeks I tried to talk to my parents very minimally so I wouldn’t spill the beans!! 

Until we went to Ohio I was constantly freaking out. Every cramp I got I worried that something was wrong with the baby. I repeat do not Google your symptoms while pregnant; it will scare you worse. 

Well it was time to go back to Ohio and we had it planned out how we would tell our parents! We made them onesies 🙂 when we got off the plane we handed my mom her bag full of coffee she requested and the onesie was in there too. My mom pulled it out and just stared at it. A few seconds later I said “Mom, I’m pregnant!” 

She cried and squealed “I knew it!” My dad turned to Daniel and asked what my mom said over and over and asked if we were joking and then started to cry too!

We were happy we waited to tell them in person!

We had family cookouts on both sides and Daniel made the announcement to everyone! It was priceless to see everyone’s expressions!

A week after we got back to Hawaii, I still didn’t feel like I was pregnant so I looked up an ultrasound place and made an appointment and it was so worth it! 

At my appointment Daniel and I got to see the baby moving and dancing around, hear the heartbeat, and they measured the baby! This was what I needed. It was the most amazing thing I have ever seen and heard. I am anxiously awaiting when I’ll get to hear and see my little babe again 🙂

This post ended up being way longer than I intended but I’m so excited for this journey!  

   https://www.facebook.com/TheMotherish/videos/892764090769314/

Leave a Reply

